Symphonic Residencies


An Aarhus 2017 Commission
Presented by Aarhus Symphony Orchestra

Aarhus Symphony Orchestra presents 4 major symphonic works which unfold the history of the 20th Century through the music that defined it. The 4 works will be performed by the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra in collaboration with invited musicians from 28 European countries.

While the works look back on history, the project with its ambitious artist-in-residency hosting helps to foster new European relations that look to the future and forge an exceptional repertoire of history linked through music. The orchestra will present some of the most important and revolutionary 20th century symphonic works including Stravinsky's 'The Rite of Spring', Shostakovich's Symphony No. 7 'Leningrad' and Benjamin Britten's ‘War Requiem’.

The aim of Symphonic Residencies is to strengthen the international networks across Europe and foster an increased interest in symphonic music and the shared history of Europe in the 21st Century.

23rd – 24th February
4th – 5 th May

Musikhuset Aarhus